Big change in my little world

fall workshop

fall workshop

You may have noticed that I have not posted in a long time.  Shortly after my last post I had a bit of health crisis and ended up in the hospital for 16 days.  I was diagnosed with Ovarian Cancer, stage one.  It is very treatable and I am going to be just fine but it means going through chemotherapy for the next 4 months or so.  That part is a bit rough, though so far, only a few bad days and mostly I feel fine.   Deb Karash Jewelry is still in business!  I am still planning to be at the American Craft Council show in Baltimore in February but if I see you there, I won’t be able to hug you.  Avoiding germs is a full time job these days because the chemo compromises your immune system.

Many of you were hoping for a spring break workshop this year but I just don’t know how I will be feeling by then so I’m afraid to schedule anything.  If you are wanting to do the Drawing on Metal Workshop in my North Carolina studio this year, please send me an email at dkjewelry@msn.com and let me know 3 weeks that would work for you.  That way I can schedule something that works for the most people.    I will probably do a couple of them this summer so stay tuned to this blog for the dates.  I’m really missing my students and I’m looking forward to teaching after the chemo is finished.

I hope that you are staying warm and working hard in your studios.  I love to see pics of what you all are doing.

~ by debkarash on January 24, 2014.

23 Responses to “Big change in my little world”

  1. Deb I am so sorry to hear this, I do hope you have a quick, painless recovery and that your life is filled with great art, love and support along the way!

  2. My prayers are for a speedy and complete recovery. We need great teachers like you. Hugs, Judi Ruben.

  3. Best Wishes for a speedy and thorough recovery!

  4. I’m very sorry to hear this Deb! I wish you the best as you work through the coming months. You are in my thoughts and prayers. You are a strong, courageous woman! Just know that lots of positive energy is being sent your way! Debbie Collins

  5. Hi Deb, you don’t know me, but I am touched by your post. Have gone through breast cancer twice, with chemo the second time. I found that the shot to boost my immune system the day after each chemo treatment was the worst part of it. I have long admired your jewelry, and I hope you will be well again soon! Best of luck to you!

  6. HI DEB, I AM SO SORRY TO HEAR THAT YOU ARE SICK, I SINCERELY WISH YOU THE BEST, CHIMO SUCKS, SO EAT WELL, EAT LOTS OF TOMATOES, MEDITATE, AND I AM SURE YOU WILL BE FINE SOONER THAN YOU THINK, I SEND YO A BIG HUG AND KISS AND HOPE TO HAVE YOU HEAR IN VALLARTA TEACHING SOON!!!!

  7. Deb, Sending positive thoughts and best wishes your way. You continue to inspire me!

    blessings, Kay Vickers

    Sent from my iPad

  8. Be well Deb!

    My sister went through the same diagnose and treatments. She is doing very well. My 22 yr old niece just went through a similar scare…no cancer but they had to take out 2/3rds of an ovary and both Fallopian tubes. Sad for such a young one who lives kids! I wish you the best, be well and take time to heal…don’t push too much! You are strong and healthy so you will be fine! God bless!

    Barbara

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  9. Thinking of you, Deb and sending positive thoughts for your recovery to perfect health! I will stay alert for your updates on classes.

  10. Take Deb’s class if you have any opportunity. I rate her class a 5 out of a 5. Deb is generous with her talent, knowledge and time. I believe that it is one of the best workshops I’ve ever taken. Worth the two-day drive and then some.

  11. So sorry you are having to deal with this but glad they caught it early. Sounds like you have a positive outlook on this which is oh so important. Will be thinking of you.

  12. Deb, so sorry to hear this. Wishing you as painless and stress free a recovery as possible. Your Idyllwild class last year was fantastic and I hope you are back to teaching and making your beautiful jewelry soon.

  13. Deb, I’m terribly sorry to hear about your cancer. I finished up my chemo and radiation about 10 months ago, so I know what you are going through. The worst part of chemo for me was not being able to taste things. And radiation really took a lot out of me. Just hang in there and I look forward to meeting you in a few weeks at the A.C.C. Sending prayers your way. Ginny B.

    • thanks, Ginny, I hope that you are enjoying good health, now. I have been lucky that, so far, my taste has not been affected. My main side effect has been neuropathy pain and body aches but I’m learning to control that with medication. See you soon, Deb

  14. It’s uplifting to read so many positive well wishes from your followers/friends. Please add my healing thoughts to your treasure trove of spiritual energy!! Know that you are loved and inspiring to many.

  15. prayers and hugs! I hope the chemo will go as well as it can.

  16. And yet you gave me a hug. I was healthy, whew! :O)

    I love my brooch!

Leave a Reply

 
