Learning Mold Making at Penland

I spent this week at Penland taking a mold making class from Mi-Sook Hur.  It was such a great group of women who were all excited to be doing something new.  I had never really done any mold making before and Mi-Sook presented a lot of information and patiently guided us through numerous mold making processes.  These are just some of the things that I did in class.  One of my favorite things is the big Asian pear that I started doing some drawing on.  I think it will become a brooch.casting class results Now it’s time to let it all sink in and figure out how the pieces will fit into my work.  Taking a class is always a great use of time.   Sometimes a workshop ends up being something that doesn’t really fit with your style  but you will still learn some little thing that changes the way you work.  It may be that you learn just as much from the other students as you do from your instructor.  It’s  special time to focus on some small aspect of making and the discussions that occur among the students can give you new perspective so don’t hesitate to sign up for a workshop some time soon.  The class was such great fun and I will miss all of my new friends but I expect to see some of them again before too long!  Thanks to Mi-Sook and her assistant Audrey for such a fun class.  It was the messiest class I’ve ever taken but there was never a dull moment.

~ by debkarash on October 13, 2013.

One Response to “Learning Mold Making at Penland”

  1. How fun!

Leave a Reply

 
