the right thing to do…

Fabrication Workshop at Wildacres

Fabrication Workshop at Wildacres

I just finished teaching a great workshop at Wildacres and, as usual, my students were all great fun. It was a small class but they came from near (Asheville) and far (Mexico) and in between (Nashville) to improve their fabrication skills. Teaching has become a big part of my life as a metalsmith and, for the most part, it is a joy. I teach what I am best at, my own techniques, and that is a risk. Every now and then I find that a student is either making work that resembles mine a little too much or is teaching my technique in workshops of their own. Andy Cooperman is a friend and someone who I respect a great deal. Recently he wrote about the sharing of information learned in workshops. Check it out on his blog. He always has a thoughtful take on this topic and I couldn’t express it any better. Thank-you, Andy, for your insight.

~ by debkarash on September 3, 2013.

7 Responses to “the right thing to do…”

  1. yes and I was part of this class in which you really helped all of us in the fabrication and design of metals. I would encourage those of you who have not taken a workshop from Deb to do so, she is a great teacher as well as a great jeweler. Thanks to you Deb..
    Carol Evans

  2. I agree with everything that Andy Cooperman has said on his blog. What I don’t understand is that people who do present workshops of someone else’s work only present a pale imitation of it anyway but they still present it anyway. Each of us has a unique ‘hand’ so the item will never be an exact replica of the original artist’s work – only leads to disappointment. I loved learning your methods and I know how much I have enjoyed applying them to my own designs and ideas.

  3. I thoroughly loved being at Wild Acres at the same time as you were teaching. A HUGE benefit was my purchase of “Spot, the Dragonfly.” Incredible, awesome, fantastic work of art! You and Emily Rason are the best!

  4. Emily Reason….not Rason. She deserves the correct spelling of her name, for sure….LOL.

  5. Hi Deb, I read the post, you don`t have to worry about me giving any workshop, I plan to practice a lot! Besides I want to mix what I learnt to what I like to do. I still struggle with main issues in designing, like easy or interesting. Jajajaja. I do believe that information given in workshops are meant to be used by the students in their own work, that`s the purpose, rather than using the information to make a profit itself, but I also believe that the designers and teachers  have to improve  in something their collection, although the main issue remains, I hope I am making myself understand, you the teachers have to be ahead of us students in design. Anyway I believe in ethics because is the only way that we as humans can apply decency as a verb, and I am sure that all good actions have good consequences,all good  desitions    have good results, and that`s what I am looking for my life, nothing else but to live a good life, in peace. THANKS FOR SHARING DEB  You will hear from me soon. Deb  can you send me an envoice for the total amount of money I own you, by paypal, perhaps now I can do the deposit.  THANKS AGAIN

    PD I haven`t find in Cuernavaca, or Mexico City the PATINA!!!   I am trying to see of an import company can bring it for me…Today I will practice the colour technics on silver with black max, I have alternative for now, any suggestions?

    alejandra

      Ale Pascual

    >________________________________ > De: Deb Karash Jewelry >Para: alepas03@yahoo.com.mx >Enviado: Martes, 3 de septiembre, 2013 14:11:55 >Asunto: [New post] the right thing to do… > > > > WordPress.com >debkarash posted: “I just finished teaching a great workshop at Wildacres and, as usual, my students were all great fun. It was a small class but they came from near (Asheville) and far (Mexico) and in between (Nashville) to improve their fabrication skills. Teaching has ” >

Leave a Reply

 
