work, travel, teach

Sydney Opera House as seen from the botanical gardens.

Sydney Opera House as seen from the botanical gardens.

2013 has started with a bang, and I don’t mean fireworks!  Once again I was able to spend nearly a month working in Key West at the studio of John Martini.  I love that space, even though I’m tucked into a little corner, when I step out of my space I’m surrounded by enormous colorful creatures that have truly inspired my work.  This year we were pleased to meet Studios Key West resident artists Vico Fabbris and his art historian wife, Grace.  Check out his work for a bit of inspiration of your own.  He is the definition of a renaissance man and he and Grace were a delight to know.  Of course the warm weather was lovely and I always work best when I’m warm and happy.  I have never been an artist who needed to suffer for her work.  After Florida I headed north to do a couple of shows in Philadelphia and Baltimore and then after just 2 short days to regroup I left for Australia to teach some workshops.

Yep, Australia.  Just 30 hours of travel which included 15 hours on the longest non-stop flight in the world and we arrived in Melbourne.  (why did they decide that stopping in Hawaii was a bad idea?) We loved Melbourne for its focus on the arts and the ease with which we were able to get around.   We saw some some great galleries there (more on that later) and the street art was amazing.  There were so many fabulously painted alleyways.  Melbourne has embraced it’s street art and it is not to be missed.

street art in Fitzroy, a section of Melbourne

street art in Fitsroy, a section of Melbourne

In Sydney we, of course, toured the Opera House and  took in an Opera.  We try, each year, to visit one interesting architectural site and so you can image how thrilled we were to see the Sydney Opera house.  Of course we couldn’t be in Sydney without taking a trip to the famous Bondi Beach and then we walked along the cliffs from Bondi Beach to Bronte Beach and little beyond.  In Brisbane we enjoyed the riverfront cultural district and the beautiful pedestrian bridges that connect to the central business district.   We also went to Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary and got to pet a Koala and a Kangaroo.  Each city had a beautiful botanical garden right downtown and I had to visit each one.   I felt that each city was really livable and they do a lot to make everyone safe and comfortable.  We were especially struck by Federal Square in Melbourne where you can get a lawn chair or a cushion from a trailer full of these items and relax and watch the people go by.  In Brisbane all of the museums are free and there is a free manmade beach that is right across the river from the cbd which we enjoyed on our last day in Australia.   The Australians we met were all friendly and helpful.  It was a privilege to be invited to teach there.

More about the teaching next time, right now I must get back to work.  You know what they say…if you want to play you’ve got to pay.  It’s time for me to pay.

~ by debkarash on April 5, 2013.

2 Responses to “work, travel, teach”

  1. Hello, All sounds exciting. Being in the world can be so inspiring.

    Are you planning to schedule any painting on metal classes this year or next?Love to take one. Let me know, so I can schedule. North is good, any place around Baltimore or Washington, DC would be great.

    Thanks, Carlotta Botvin

    Good luck with the coming year Sent from my iPad

    • Hi Carlotta, The only place I plan to teach the Drawing on Metal is in my own studio in North Carolina. I will post those classes as soon as I have them planned.

Leave a Reply

 
