Another year behind us

Well, my friends, 2012 has been an interesting year.  I started the year by working in the studio of a friend in Key West, making work for 2 big shows in February.  It was really fun to be able to work hard and then take my breaks at the beach!  The shows were good and I’m grateful to the individuals and galleries who have supported my work.  I love making jewelry and am fortunate that there are those who want to wear it.  I’ve stopped doing most of the shows and am focusing on working with my galleries and on teaching.  I have taught more this year than most other years put together and I have enjoyed every class.  My students have ranged from beginners to experienced jewelers

class Dec. 2012

Drawing on Metal class enjoying some lunch at Dot’s cafe.

and many have now become friends.  I want to thank each of you for allowing me to teach you.  Teaching has enriched my life, allowing me to be with other makers and share discoveries.  My favorite part of teaching is when a student has what I call an “aha” moment.  When someone finally understands a technique and can do it with confidence.   As I head into 2013 with a busy schedule, already, I look forward to all of the new relationships that I will forge, all of the “aha” moments,  and to making exciting new work.  I will be setting up my little studio in Key West for a few glorious weeks, doing a couple of shows in February, and spending a month in Australia where I will teach 3 classes and see a small part of the country.  In the spring I will also be moving my studio to Asheville where I’m looking forward to becoming part of a new community.  Keep an eye on the blog for previews of  work that I’m making for 2013.

Happy holidays to all of you, and  may you have a creative New Year.

~ by debkarash on December 24, 2012.

2 Responses to “Another year behind us”

  1. Don’t let any grass grow under your feet Deb! May 2013 be your best year yet! I love seeing what you’re up to and what you make. I feel very fortunate to have gotten to meet you and absorb a little of what you know. I will cheer for you from over here.

  2. Thank you Deb for a wonderful class. Enjoy the Keys. Would love to study with you again.

Leave a Reply

 
