Teaching, making, renovating…

Drawing on Metal Class just moments before students started heading home.

My drawing on Metal class was a big success!  Everyone had a great time and went home with finished projects.  We had students from Australia, Maine, Massachusetts, Florida, and Tennessee.  I was really lucky that it was such a fun group.  Class took place in my studio in Bakersville and everyone seemed to enjoy their week in the mountains.  Even though everyone was working hard on their projects we did take a little time out to visit Penland School of Crafts and to enjoy a cookout one evening, after all, all work and no play…well, you know the rest.  Everyone was sad to go home.

I have two other classes coming up this year.  Both are fabrication classes.  I will be teaching “Pin Me” at Terri McCarthy Studios in Grafton, WI in August.  In September I will be teaching 5-5-10, 5 days, 5 projects, 10 techniques at Arrowmont School of Artsand Crafts in Gatlinburg, TN.    I will definitely be teaching in my studio again and I will let you know when that might be.

“Pin Me” at Terri McCarthy Studios and
5-5-10 at Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts

Also in August, I will be doing the American Craft Exposition in Evanston, IL.  Along with being a great show it also benefits breast cancer research so please come out and support the artists and a good cause!

The other big news this month is that David and I bought a house in Asheville!  It needs a lot of work, really, a lot of work, but in the end it will be great.  I will be moving my studio to Asheville some time later this summer.  You can see that it’s a busy year for me with teaching and making and doing shows and renovating a house.  Just when I think I might be slowing down things seem to speed up.  I guess I’m simply not meant to have a lot of leisure time.

~ by debkarash on July 6, 2012.

2 Responses to “Teaching, making, renovating…”

  1. I would be interested in your classes! if you have any in Florida let me know. I love your work and have A piece.
    Wendy

Leave a Reply

 
