Coming soon, to a show near you!

I can never find the lid for these things!

After a busy, information filled week at Arrowmont it is good to be home again.  I took a class for the first time in a long time and it was really different being in the position of student as opposed to being the teacher.  It was a lot less pressure but a bit more difficult.  Chris Hentz (the instructor) filled my head with so much information it may take weeks to digest it all.  If you ever want to take a class to learn how to solder, this is the one to take.  Chris, also known as the Jedi Metal Master, is a thorough and patient teacher for beginners and advanced alike.  Even though I have been soldering for years, I wanted to ramp up my skills.  Done.  I also managed to have a great time.  We were lucky to have a full class of fun people and we learned a lot from each other.  Arrowmont is a great place to spend a week.  I will be teaching there the first week of October 2012.  While I don’t have an magic tricks, like Chris, I do my best to show everyone a good time.

you can leave Arrowmont this way, or through Pigeon Forge, nature or torture

Now that I’m back I have a lot to do.  I have shows in Evanston, IL, St. Louis, Mo, Rockford, IL, Atlanta, GA, Boston, MA, and Chatanooga, TN, all before the end of the year.  Plus I have been shipping lots of work to galleries all over the country and I still have a few orders to fill.  Soon I will get my list of galleries updated but here are just of few galleries that have new work:  Smith Beverly Interiors, Cockerill, Nimbus, and The Real Mother Goose.  Of course you can always find my work at Crimson Laurel Gallery in Bakersville, NC and at Flow in Marshall, NC.

In other exciting news – If you don’t happen to get Metalsmith magazine you can read an article about me  this month in the online version or pick it up at the bookstore.  If you don’t already get the mag, it’s very nice.   Also, David and I rescued a hawk in our yard about a week ago.  The picture is not so good because it was dusk and you don’t really want to startle a hawk with a flash from the camera.  He was in sad shape when we found him but we fed him some chicken and gave him some water and that seemed to perk him up a bit.  We then loaded him into a crate and took him to someone who does bird rescue.  They said that he was emaciated and that they would put him on an IV right away.  We sure hope he is doing better.

That’s it for now.  I hope you are all having a great summer.  I hope to enjoy a little bit of it myself, even though I will be spending most of it in the studio.

~ by debkarash on June 25, 2011.

6 Responses to “Coming soon, to a show near you!”

  1. No! that’s nowhere near me. I do still hold out hope that I will meet up with you again.

    How do you like your success the way it looks now?

  2. I really love your work. I am from Costa Rica resident in this country and love color. it is so important for me. I would love to have the experience of a workshop with you. I have tried to paint some of my work but the one i was most please with it was done with acrylic painting. I keep trying. I am really new in the jewelry work, I love it.

    I feel a lot of sympathy for you besides that your work is excellent you care for animals. I love them

    I will have my website ready this week hopefully. I started with beading like 10 years ago, since then I have experience with silversmithing and know I am learning kumihimo. I like to learn and experiment.

    Looking forward to meet you and learn from you

    Regards

    Liliana Flynn

  3. Just wanted to say how much I enjoy your blog! Like everything else, you do it well!

  4. I have recently discovered a passion for jewelry making and came upon your work while researching ways of adding color to pieces I create without having to purchase a kiln (I’m building up to this 😉 ). Needless to say I am, without question, smitten by your work and am estatic that you will be in my area soon!

    Where and when will you be in Evanston, IL!? I love to meet you in person and see your new work. Are you by any chance teaching any workshops while you’re here? I would truly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your techniques.

  5. WIll be seeing you again at ACE in Evanston; we love your fantastic jewelry, and the sophisticated elegance of your display. Good luck to you!

    • Thanks, Phil. I’m looking forward to being in Evanston again, though I may have my old display because I’m doing St. Louis Art Fair in the same trip which is an outdoor show and I can’t use the new booth outdoors.

Leave a Reply

 
