Inspired by travel

After two demanding weeks doing shows I had a couple of days at home and then headed off on the trip of a lifetime, two weeks in Paris, a week in Barcelona, and five days in Florence. Having just finished week one of the trip I have to say that, while I have always been inspired by travel, this trip really has me thinking. I have already seen so much that I feel like I’m in visual overload. The museums are amazing and there are so many that I won’t be able to see them all. The shops are beautiful, each with it’s own specialty and carefully arranged window display. The people are stylish, the streets clean, and even the weather has been great. The antiquity of this place is staggering when you have spent your life in a country that is just a couple of hundred years old. But don’t let that fool you, Paris is also modern. I have enjoyed the more contemporary art even more than the old masters. The Monet installation at L’Orangerie was breathtaking and the Museum of Decorative Arts had a marvelous exhibit of 20th century fashion that just blew my mind.  Of course we have seen classics like “The Thinker” and so many old masters at the Louvre that it’s impossible to count.  I did manage a little shopping and of course there has been food and wine.  There is something lovely about shopping for cheese at the cheese shop and breads at the boulangerie and, lucky us, the best ice cream shop in Paris is just a few doors from our apartment!  Mmmm, and did I mention the crepes?  So, what with all the walking, looking, eating, and drinking I may not post too regularly but I will try to share what I can with you and later, how it affects the work.  Bonjour!

~ by debkarash on March 10, 2011.

One Response to “Inspired by travel”

  1. That’s really great you got to go and for so long! Looking forward to seeing the effects of your inspiration! Yay!

Leave a Reply

 
