News, finally.

Well, I’m back.  I haven’t really been away, since we are never really away from the internet.  I’ve just been sort of busy.  I did the American Craft Exposition in Evanston, IL in August.  That is such a beautiful  show, top notch work, and the committee always treats the artists well.  I used the trip to stop off in Rockford very briefly and see a few friends and some family.  Now I’m making work for my next show which is the Atlanta Contemporary Jewelry Show,  November 5 & 6 at the DeFoor Centre.  It’s a very small show of beautiful jewelry.  If you love jewelry and you are in the Atlanta area, don’t miss it, it’s quite special.  I will also be giving a lecture at the Spruill Center about my work and accidental career.  Of course, Flow is keeping me busy as well.  We are getting new work and planning some fall events so stay tuned for more news on that front.  I’m also curating a jewelry show for Crimson Laurel Gallery that will be in the gallery and online in November.  It’s a great mix of style and technique, everything from river rocks to diamonds.

I just shipped out new work to Agora Arts in Decorah, Iowa and Northwood Gallery in Midland, Michigan.  Check it out when you are in the area.

Don’t forget that American Craft Week is coming up October 1-10.  Get out and buy something handmade.  Start your holiday shopping.  Supporting local crafts people is good for your community, good for the environment, and good for your soul.

For those of you who are interested in the collaboration that I am doing with Lisa Clague, here is pic of the last piece that we did together.  It’s not a great photo but it sold the day after I finished it so I didn’t have time to take a great picture.  I can’t wait to do more with Lisa.

All for now – Deb

collaboration #2 with Lisa Clague

~ by debkarash on September 21, 2010.

2 Responses to “News, finally.”

  1. We are in the Atlanta area and I was wondering how you got involved doing shows. We would appreciate some tips in getting our product out.

    Georgia Pearl

    • Georgia, I started doing shows a very long time ago. I actually started making jewelry because I saw someone at an art festival who gave lessons in her studio and I took a class. When I felt I was ready to apply to shows I started with my state arts council which had a listing of art fairs and I applied to a few of those. After that I used the Artfair Sourcebook for a while. Now you can just go to Zapplication.org and find hundreds of shows to apply to. I haven’t lived in this area long enough to know much about local shows. I’ve done the ACC Show in Atlanta and I will be doing the Atlanta Contemporary Jewelry Show at the DeFoor Centre in Atlanta the first weekend in November.

Leave a Reply

 
