Exciting new project…

Lot’s of changes this month with my move to Bakersville.  I’m still keeping the studio in Marshall so it’s like moving without really going anywhere.  In between packing, moving, and unpacking I’m still keeping busy in the studio filling orders for galleries and designing new work for the ACE show in August and various other smaller deadlines throughout the summer.  The big news, though, is that I’m working on a collaboration with the incredibly talented Lisa Clague.  If you don’t know her work, check it out at LisaClague.net.  Our plan is to finish our  first piece by the end of this month so that it can be ready for the Penland Auction catalog.  We also hope to have a few available for sale at Crimson Laurel Gallery in Bakersville.  As we go along I will share the process with you.

sketches for collaboration between Deb Karash and Lisa Clague

This is my initial sketch of two possibilities.  The drawings in the center are Lisa’s drawings that I used for inspiration.  We got together and decided on the one on the right for our first piece.  I’m now working on the metal components.  I will make one layer in white that Lisa will draw directly on to.  We are both really excited about the possibilities that lie ahead.  Stay tuned for the next step.

~ by debkarash on May 17, 2010.

2 Responses to “Exciting new project…”

  1. Gorgeous!! Can’t wait to see it when it’s finished.

  2. Cool. Can’t wait to see what the work will look like. I’ll be tuned in!
    Nice blog.

Leave a Reply

 
