Well, this has been a very busy winter.  I had the great fortune to spend a few weeks in Key West, working in my friend, John Martini’s, studio.  He does this fabulously colorful sculpture which is engineered in a very similar fashion to my jewelry, except on a much grander scale.  This is John’s studio.

John Martini's Studio

Being surrounded by all of the this color and these great forms was really inspiring.  You’ll be able to see that inspiration in my new bird pieces.  Of course the actual birds and flowers of Key West were also pretty inspiring.  I had a couple of near misses with chickens while riding my bike around town which is not something that happens just every day.  I took lots of afternoon breaks at the beach, saw a couple of great sunsets, and thoroughly enjoyed myself.  Now I’m in Philadelphia for the Buyer’s Market of American Craft and next week I will be at the American Craft Show in Baltimore, MD.   I’m looking forward to seeing lot’s of familiar faces at the shows.  It’s going to be a busy couple of weeks!

Blind Bird

~ by debkarash on February 17, 2012.

2 Responses to “”

  1. We were just in Key West for 2 days. Beautiful. My favorite spot was the butterfly Museum. It was an awesome place!

    • My boyfriend’s brother owns the butterfly conservatory so we were able to go there when it was empty. In the evening a lot of the butterflies go to sleep in the trees which was a very cool thing to see. Glad you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,546 other followers

