It has been such a busy summer and fall that I haven’t had time to blog. I spent a month in the midwest doing the American Craft Exposition in Evanston, IL and the St. Louis Art Fair in Clayton, MO. So much great work in both of those shows so I hope you were able to attend. I also did the Greenwich Village Art Fair in my home town of Rockford, IL. It was wonderful to see so many old friends! This weekend I am at the Atlanta Contemporary Jewelry Show at the DeFoor Center.  The show goes from 10 to 9 today and 10 to 6 tomorrow.  The wine reception from 6 to 9, tonight, is always fun and tomorrow there will be some special giveaways in the afternoon.  It’s a marvelous selection of 25 jewelers.  You can even have lunch and/or a cocktail.  The food at the DeFoor is quite good.  There is free parking, too!

I’m feeling a little torn this weekend because there is a fabulous show opening at Crimson Laurel Gallery in Bakersville, NC that I will have to miss.

NOVEMBER 5 – DECEMBER 31 Interpreting the Cup: Process, Influence and Intent - Curated by Jason Bige Burnett

Earlier this week Jason and I set up the exhibition that he curated of over 400 cups.  It was a long day and a lot of cups but I think the show looks great.  David and John have been busy all week putting on the finishing touches.  If you can’t make it to the opening reception tomorrow night you can  see Interpreting the Cup:Process, Influence and Intent – Curated by Jason Bige Burnett online at www.CrimsonLaurelGallery.com.  The show runs through the end of December.

I know that we just celebrated Halloween but with these two great shows this weekend it’s the perfect time to think about holiday giving.  We’ve all been thinking more about buying local and what is more local that buying handmade work.  This year I hope everyone considers giving something with heart.  As artists we invest more than time and material into the pieces we make.  We invest our identity and our passion, along with our skill.  When you give something handmade you are giving a gift that is thoughtful and heartfelt.   Support the arts this holiday season.

I hope to see you here in Atlanta!

~ by debkarash on November 4, 2011.

3 Responses to “”

  1. hope your art and piece of work soon become a well business or company!

  2. Missed you very much at the opening reception of “Cups” yesterday.
    Glad, though, that you left some of your pieces. The fruits at great.
    I like the green pear so much I can’t even remember the other one!
    See you in Bakersville soon.

    • Thanks, Linda. I hated missing the opening. It’s such a great show that I’m sure the reception was a blast. Glad you like the new work. I have a couple of other pieces in that series that I will probably bring to the gallery this week.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,546 other followers

