New Studio!

I’m just settling in to my new studio in Bakersville, NC.  Thanks to all who helped me make the move, especially to David who realized that the truck I ordered wouldn’t be nearly big enough, and that I should have 4 guys to load it rather than the 2 that I had planned, and of course, for helping pack.  Thanks to Amy Moore for helping me pack and the Dirty Boys for loading the truck (what an awesome job they did, you wouldn’t believe it!) and to Charlie and Brendon and Theresa, in Bakersville, for helping me unload it.  This week Niki Coverstone came in and unpacked and organized and filed everything in the office.   As much as I love Marshall, I think I’m going to be happy in Bakersville.  Already, two friends have brought beautiful flowers from their gardens, thanks to Bev and Janet.

plate by Emily Reason, drawing by Carol Weber, egg sculpture by R. Scott Long

artwork by old friends and flowers from new friends - plate by Emily Reason, drawing by Carol Weber, egg sculpture by R. Scott Long

It’s nice to have some spontaneity in my life, though I haven’t really had it for so long that it’s a bit foreign.  It’s been fun to be able to take off and go to Penland for an evening or pop out to Lisa Clague’s studio for inspiration.  We are looking forward to doing another collaboration so stay tuned for that.  Shane Urquart, my studio neighbor, dressed and anvil for me that I have had for years and never did anything with.  Now I just need a stump for it.  I think it will be fun to have a blacksmith for a neighbor.

I’m working on some new things for my upcoming shows (American Craft Expo in Evanston and the St. Louis Art Fair, as well as Greenwich in Rockford) so maybe next time I’ll have some new work to show you.  If you have some of my work I hope you saw the article in the last issue of Metalsmith magazine.  I hope to see a lot of folks in St. Louis that I haven’t seen in a while and I REALLY hope that all this crazy weather calms down before we get there.

Enjoy the summer, it’ll be gone before we know it.

~ by debkarash on July 28, 2011.

4 Responses to “New Studio!”

  1. Congratulations, Deb!! We can’t wait to visit you at your new place. :)

  2. OOh, a blacksmith for a neighbor? That might be even more of an enticement for Andy to visit! Glad you’re settled!! xoxo

  3. I saw the article! It was a nice picture of you and your most recent work and I guess it answers in part my question about how you feel about your success now that you’ve been working and enjoying more attention. Yeah, it would be nice to be able to focus only on the making. It is way more fun than the business side.

    Still, I do see much more about you in the media than I ever had before I took the class from you and that’s good for you I’m sure. I took the class at MAC just on faith and because I liked the photos you provided. I have to say that I learned so much! I’ve been meeting with my own degree of success as well but I’m definitely in conflict with dividing my time between making and business. It can make me very anxious thinking about it.

    Good luck with your sales at the shows. You’re very good at what you do.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,501 other followers

