The next phase in the collaboration with Lisa Clague

Last week I made all of the components for the brooch that I’m working on with Lisa Clague. Lisa really likes pink so I went with the pink and orange stripes. It was hard to decide between doing something with color or keeping it all black and white. In the end I chose color because it’s going in the Penland auction and I wanted it to really stand out in the catalog. Now it’s in Lisa’s hands. She is working on the drawing that will go on the top layer. I hope to pick it up later today or tomorrow and take it back to my studio for some final finishing and assembly. I think it’s going to be really cool, even if I do say so myself…… and in the meantime I am in the process of settling in to my new home in Bakersville. Today should be the last of the moving in process for me. Whew! I hate moving, but it’s beautiful here and it will be great to be able to spend more time with David. I bought a little jewelers bench to have at the gallery so that I can do some work when I’m here. Now I just have to figure out the logistics of working in two studios.

parts

~ by debkarash on May 24, 2010.

3 Responses to “The next phase in the collaboration with Lisa Clague”

  1. It is a really cool project! I’ve always been intrigued by collaborations. In pottery they can be really bad or really good. Mostly they’re OK. There is the complication with clay, glazes, etc. that sometimes get in the way of the ideas. I’m looking forward to seeing the project develop!

    Good luck with the moving and dividing of the studio!

    • thanks, Michael. I think this collaboration is turning out great. It has definitely inspired me in some new directions. I think that the next one will be even more of a collaboration because we will have more time. I’m hoping that we can be in the studio together working on some pieces. For this one we just passed ideas back and forth.

  2. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,498 other followers

